The Biloxi Lighthouse which was one of the first cast-iron lighthouses erected in the south opened in 1848. It operated under civilian operation from 1848 to 1939 when the US Coast Guard assumed operation of the lighthouse. In 1968, the city of Biloxi assumed ownership of the lighthouse at eventually opened it up to public tours. Hurricane Katrina in 2005 caused extensive damage to the lighthouse and a restoration project followed. After $400,000 worth of repairs, the lighthouse reopened to public tours in 2010.
Location: 1050 Beach Blvd. Biloxi, MS 39530
Hours: Guided tours daily at 9:00 AM, 9:15 AM and 9:50 AM. (Weather permitting)
Admission: Adults (13+) : $5.00 , Children: $2.00
- Savings offer – There currently discounts for large groups. Call: 228-374-3105 for more information.